Rated 3.00 out of 5 based on 1 customer rating
(1 customer review)


You are buying an mp3 album (not CD or other physical format).


SKU: MUSIC0018 Categories: , ,

Donovan entered the studio in late 1974 with a new set of songs. The songs were originally intended for use as part of a stage performance piece, and ranged from up-tempo songs to the balladry that Donovan had become known for.

1 – Rock And Roll Souljer

2 – Your Broken Heart

3 – Salvation Stomp

4 – The Ordinary Family

5 – Ride A Mile

6 – Sadness

7 – Moon Rok

8 – Love Of My Life

9 – The Voice Of Protest

10 – How Silly

11 – The Great Song Of The Sky

12 – The Quest

13 – Rock And Roll Souljer (Single Version)

14 – Salvation Stomp (Aingle Version)

15 – Age Of Treason

16 – What The Soul Desires

1 review for 7-TEASE

  1. Rated 3 out of 5

    Christopher Smith

    Donovan’s 70s releases tend to be overlooked. Expectations for him were high following a string of major hits (Sunshine Superman, Mellow Yellow, Hurdy Gurdy Man, Atlantis) and anything short of the top ten appeared to be a disappointment. In addition, the times had changed quite dramatically: by the early 70s, disillusionment ruled the US and many of the major stars of the 60s lost their way or were seen as out of touch -: even Lennon and McCartney had their struggles.

    Yet, in retrospect, many of Donovan’s 70s albums were comparable in quality to his generally accepted classics. And, ironically even at the time they did quite well, both critically and sales-wise: Open Road hit the top 20 and was well received, Cosmic Wheels was also a top 40 hit, and this, Donovan’s 12th album, released in late 1974, was as good as either album. ,

    I’d even argue they follow the some of the same musical themes of Donovan’s early work. Jazz (Salvation Stomp), folk ballads (The Great Song in the Sky) and, Hard Rock -rock critic Bruce Elder stated that “Rock and Roll Souljer” could’ve/should’ve-been single!

    The stand out track for me, however, is The Voice of Protest. A rousing number, it speaks directly to the very issues that I addressed earlier in this review. The only sin this album commits is that it doesn’t have a Catch the Wind or Atlantis on it…. and, again, this is the very issue that plagued many of Donovan’s compatriots of the time (Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Jagger/Richards….)

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




10% OFF

Be the first to know about our exclusive items by email,
new catalogs and special promotions.