Donovan, Ray Davies, Graham Gouldman, Mark James & Jim Weatherly to be Inducted June 12th in NYC

New York, NY – February 11, 2014 – Musical titans Donovan, Ray Davies, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly will become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 45th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner. These legendary songwriters wrote such mega-hits as “Mellow Yellow”, “You Really Got Me”, “For Your Love”, “Suspicious Minds”, and “Midnight Train to Georgia”. The star-studded induction event is slated for Thursday, June 12th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“Each of our 2014 inductees has been responsible for captivating the world with their creativity for decades, serving up a rich variety of songs for our global soundtrack,” said SHOF Chairman Jimmy Webb. “We are looking forward to celebrating their contributions at our Annual Awards Gala.”

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) serves as a vital bridge between music’s past and future. In the Hall, musical pioneers are enshrined and celebrated, while the organization’s outreach to the music community grooms the next generation of troubadours.

Scottish singer-songwriter Donovan was discovered by Ralph Peer Jr. in 1964, and was soon in the pop charts with his first hit “Catch The Wind,” which garnered him the Ivor Novello Award for songwriting. Donovan and producer Mickie Most then collaborated on other chart-topping songs including “Sunshine Superman,” “Mellow Yellow” and “Hurdy Gurdy Man,” all of which landed in the Top 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. In 1965 Donovan became the first artist Clive Davis signed to CBS/Epic Records. Donovan’s hits, along with many of his other songs including “Atlantis,” “Catch The Wind” and “Season Of The Witch,” have been featured in films and TV shows such asGoodfellas, Dark Shadows, The Simpsons and Futurama as well as in major advertisements for General Electric, The Gap and Microsoft. He also served as the musical composer for the films Poor Cow, Brother Sun, Sister Moon and The Pied Piper. Throughout his career Donovan has collaborated with Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Ronnie Wood, Jeff Beck, among others. Donovan was designated as a BMI Icon in 2009 and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012.


Media Coverage

New York Times
USA Today
Wall Street Journal
Los Angeles Times
Rolling Stone
Huffington Post
CBS News
ABC News
Washington Post