Donovan Releases Album 2 of The Buried Treasure Series

The Senual Donovan

Donovan discovers lost tapes, the second to be available is Sensual Donovan. A buried treasure release, this series will continue.

Donovan releases a new un-released set of songs rediscovered in the Archive .

It is amazing to find this complete album which I had forgotten I made. It was never released in 1970 when I recorded it with John Phillips ( Mamas & Papas ) in The Factory Recording Studio in Hollywood. The band was essentially The Jazz Crusaders , Joe Sample (keyboards),  Wilton Felder (bass) and I think Stix Hooper (drums) but not the regular Crusaders guitarist Larry Carlton. For this session the guitar was David T.Walker.

This album was not finished when I found it in the archive, but all the basic tracks were there. Wilton Felder was to add his horns but didn’t, so I completed the album in The Works Studio Dublin with Rod Callan.

The horn players I used were Michael Buckley (who co-arranged  the  horns  with  me) and Ronan Dooney. The female vocal on Only You and Hotel Lonely was Susanne Bushnell.

Buy Now

Once you click on Buy Now, you will be directed to PayPal in order to make the necessary payment. After this process is complete, you will receive an email directing you how to download the collection.

Listen below to a Medley from The Sensual Donovan

Listen to Medley

Track Listing

  1. Only You
  2. Amore
  3. Two Lovers
  4. Astrella
  5. Amore (instrumental)
  6. Hotel Lonely
  7. Two Lovers (instrumental)
  8. Open up your Heart
  9. Astrella (instrumental)
  10. Bonus Track: Dignity of Man

All songs written by Donovan Leitch and Published by Donovan Music /Peermusic 2012.